Vote For All Six 2016 Streetsies Right Here!


If 2016 didn’t indelibly sour your taste for voting, please vote for your choices in Streetsblog L.A.’s 2016 Streetsie awards. Last week, SBLA posted detailed category by category articles with descriptions of all the nominees, and many honorable mentions. Use today’s post for a handy run-down of all the polls. Click on category titles for additional information on nominees.

Voting is already well underway and will close on Thursday, January 5, 2017 at noon. Reader voting accounts for one half of the scoring this year, with one quarter going to SBLA staff voting, and another quarter going to the SBLA steering committee vote. Vote once per IP address.

Winners will be announced on Friday January 6, 2017!

Vote for Elected Official of the Year

2016 Elected Official of the Year

  • Measure HHH - Marqueece Harris-Dawson, José Huizar (39%, 717 Votes)
  • Eric Garcetti (34%, 618 Votes)
  • Mike Bonin (21%, 387 Votes)
  • CA climate leaders - Kevin de León, Anthony Rendon, with Garcia, Pavley (4%, 79 Votes)
  • Michele Martinez (2%, 39 Votes)

Total Voters: 1,840

Loading ... Loading ...

Vote for Civil Servant of the Year

2016 Civil Servant of the Year

  • Rubina Ghazarian (44%, 2,748 Votes)
  • Zaki Mustafa (44%, 2,733 Votes)
  • Phil Washington (10%, 634 Votes)
  • Expo Authority (2%, 100 Votes)
  • Gold Line Foothill Extension Construction Authority (1%, 43 Votes)

Total Voters: 6,258

Loading ... Loading ...

Vote for Livable Streets-Friendly Businesses

2016 Livable Streets Business of the Year

  • Sarah Auerswald (38%, 89 Votes)
  • Bicycle Transit Systems (38%, 89 Votes)
  • Rail builders: Skanska/Traylor/Shea, Skanska/Traylor/Hatch Mott Macdonald, and Walsh and Shea (24%, 57 Votes)

Total Voters: 235

Loading ... Loading ...

Vote for Journalist/Writer of the Year

2016 Journalist/Writer of the Year

  • Zachary Rynew (77%, 709 Votes)
  • Hillel Aron (13%, 116 Votes)
  • Steve Scauzillo (7%, 61 Votes)
  • Kerry Cavanaugh (4%, 40 Votes)

Total Voters: 926

Loading ... Loading ...

Vote for Advocacy Group of the Year

2016 Advocacy Organization of the Year

  • Investing in Place, with LACBC (42%, 549 Votes)
  • Bike SGV (30%, 393 Votes)
  • SCOPE, Community Coalition, and YVote (14%, 177 Votes)
  • L.A. Street Vendor Campaign (9%, 113 Votes)
  • Move L.A. (5%, 71 Votes)

Total Voters: 1,303

Loading ... Loading ...

Vote for Advocate of the Year

2016 Deborah Murphy Award for Excellence in Advocacy

  • Romel Pascual (46%, 681 Votes)
  • Luke Klipp (38%, 563 Votes)
  • The Untokening: Zahra Alabanza, Naomi Doerner, Adonia Lugo, Carolyn Sczczepanski, and Anthony Taylor (7%, 100 Votes)
  • Michael MacDonald (6%, 96 Votes)
  • Lewis MacAdams (3%, 42 Votes)

Total Voters: 1,482

Loading ... Loading ...

If you are all caught up locally, check out national Streetsie polls at Streetsblog USA: best street transformations and best and worst of 2016.


2015 Streetsies: Vote for Civil Servant of the Year

  It is time to vote your mind for the 2015 Streetsie award: Civil Servant of the Year. Longtime readers will know what to do. There are six Streetsie categories this year: Elected Official, Civil Servant, Business, Writer/Journalist, Advocacy – Individual, and Advocacy – Group. If you can read this, voting has already started. All polls will close […]

2015 Streetsies: Vote for Advocate of the Year

Vote early and vote often for your choice in the 2015 Streetsie poll for the Deborah Murphy Award for Excellence in Advocacy. This award is named after Deborah Murphy, founder and motivating force behind L.A. Walks. Murphy serves on the steering committee for Streetsblog L.A. Voting starts now and will close on Tuesday, January 5, 2016 at noon. […]

2014 Streetsies: Elected Official of the Year

It’s the most wonderful time of the year. It’s Streetsie voting time! This year, we’re going to spread out the Streetsie voting over a couple of weeks, with some of the voting going live today and tomorrow and some of it going live next week. Voting will close on Friday, January 2, 2015 at noon. […]